This week on the WPDH Album of the Week, we'll feature the debut album from Collective Soul, Hints Allegations and Things Left Unsaid.

Hints allegations and Things Left Unsaid was released March 22, 1994, and was recorded in 1992, and 1993. It was released on the indie label in Atlanta called Rising Storm Records in 1993. The success of the album is due to the power of radio. A college radio station played the track Shine, which gained attention.

Collective Soul recorded the album in a basement in 1992 as a promotional demo. Frontman, Ed Roland hoped to sell the songs to a publishing company rather than form a band. Due to the radio play of Shine, requests came in for the band to perform, and soon Atlantic Records became interested.

Collective Soul performed at Woodstock in 1994 and opened for Aerosmith during their Get a Grip Tour. Oddly,  Collective Soul would regard their self-titled 1995 studio album under Atlantic as the band's official debut.

The tracklisting for Hints Allegations and Things Left Unsaid:

  1. Shine
  2. Goodnight, Good Guy
  3. Wasting Time
  4. Sister Don't Cry
  5. Love Lifted Me
  6. In a Moment
  7. Heaven's Already Here
  8. Pretty Donna
  9. Reach
  10. Breathe
  11. Scream
  12. Burning Bridges
  13. All
  14. Beautiful World

The WPDH Album of the Week is featured every Sunday night at 11:00 p.m. We play the album from start to finish without interruption. To nominate an album to be featured, fill out the form below.

Nominate an album you'd like to hear us play on WPDH for the Album of the Week

CHECK IT OUT: The 88 Most '80s Things About 1988

CHECK IT OUT: Here Are the 77 Most '70s Things About 1977