An important deadline for many New York drivers is just days away. New Yorkers face steep fines if you don't follow these simple steps.

The New York State DMV is reminding motorcyclists about an important deadline.

DMV Reminds Motorcyclists Of April 30 Deadline To Renew Registrations

Annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally To Be Held Amid Coronavirus Pandemic
Photo by Michael Ciaglo/Getty Images

The New York State DMV is reminding all motorcycle owners that all must renew your motorcycle registrations before the end of the month.

The registrations are set to expire on April 30. The registration lasts one year and the DMV says motorcycles must be inspected at a licensed station.

Get Ready To Pay More: Plan For Massive Toll To Drive In New York State Approved

“Many motorcyclists begin to make travel plans as we get further into spring,” DMV Commissioner Mark J. F. Schroeder states. “In just a few minutes, you can conveniently and securely renew your motorcycle registration online and get ready for a season of enjoying travel along New York’s many scenic roadways.”

Registrations Can be Renewed Online on the DMV Website

POV shot of young man riding on a motorcycle. Hands of motorcyclist on a street

Registration renewals can be done quickly and easily on the DMV website, officials say.

"Motorcycles must be inspected at least once every 12 months at a station licensed by DMV to perform motorcycle safety inspections," the DMV states. "To be operated on public roadways, motorcycles must have liability insurance coverage. This applies whether the motorcycle is registered in New York or out of state."

For all the news that the Hudson Valley is sharing make sure to follow Hudson Valley Post on Facebook, download the Hudson Valley Post Mobile

What If You Don't Follow These Rules?

If your motorcycle was recently suspended or revoked, or if the motorcycle hasn't been inspected in the past 12 months, "its registration cannot be renewed," according to the DMV.


You will face fines if you don't register your motorcycle. These finds get larger the longer you go without a new registration.

If your registration has been expired for under 60 days you can expect a fine between $40 to $300. If it's past 60 days the fine is between $70 and $300.

Sad News: These 11 Popular Food Items Are Gone From New York State Stores

All also come with an automatic $93 surcharge.

11 Worst Places To Live In New York State

WalletHub looked at the worst small cities to live in. Below are the 11 places in New York deemed the worst to live in.

If You See Purple Paint in New York You Need To Leave Right Away

Do you know what to do if you see purple paint in New York State? The easiest advice, run. Here's why. 

20 Worst Places to Live in New York State

A list highlights the worst places a New York resident can call home. A number of places in the Hudson Valley made the list, including one that was ranked the worst place to live.